SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dcipher_gw

Visit to eurostoves (long)

dcipher
13 years ago

Just got back from my visit to eurostoves. Like many of you, we (my wife and I) were there to see the Capital Culinarian for ourselves. Fortunately, we live about 30 minutes from the store, so we called ahead and Trevor had 2 chickens going on the rotisserie when we arrived. They had also gone to the market and picked up a few ingredients we needed to cook a meal my wife cooks frequently.

This was my first experience cooking with a 48" range (and my wife's first time cooking with gas). I'm a mechanical engineer and was really interested in how well the range was made. I also wanted to cook a couple of things and have my wife do the same - want to make sure she would actually like cooking with gas before buying ANY gas range.

I had also heard a lot of good things about cooking with induction cooktops and was interested in how a great gas range would compare against a great induction cooktop. The first test we did was boiling water. Yes, a small pot of water boiled very quickly, I had heard you could just pull the pot off the cooktop and it would be warm, but wouldn't be hot. Wrong. It was 180 degrees + as measured by a temperature probe - and cool water that we dribbled on the cooktop steamed off. So, one major selling feature was gone... After that test, I asked Trevor his opinion of cooking with induction - "no life." OK - so, got induction out of my head.

So, back to the CC. While the chickens were in the oven, we cooked steak, burgers and chicken on the grill. While those were cooking, we fired up the wok and made some stir fry. I was impressed by how quickly the wok heated up and how quickly we were able to cook up the chicken... removed the chicken, cooked up veggies, added sauce & meat and poof, we had a great meal cooked very quickly. Definitely worth getting the wok ring if you do any wok cooking.