SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
newenglandladybug

48 ' range suggestions: GE Monogram, Capital, DCS, what else?

newenglandladybug
13 years ago

We are weeks from starting a major kitchen renovation that once completed will include a 48" range. When in the planning phase, our KD asked us to confirm some appliance choices, so at that time I did what I felt was a fairly comprehensive review both in store and online (yes, I have spent so much time reading your collective posts I feel I know some of you), and came up with the GE Monogram dual fuel with 4 burners, grill and griddle. Here are some of the things I liked about it at the time:

Dual fuel: I am a baker, though this will be my first foray into convection. And I like the proofing function of the oven(s).

Self clean: Can't help it -- I'm just not good at manual cleaning ovens and I want this range to last. And BOTH ovens are self clean!

Ovens: Larger oven is good size for roasts, and both ovens are convection!

Grill: BTUs are comparable/better than Wolf's grill

Repairs: While this is a bit of a crap shoot, there aren't hundreds of posts about repair problems with the GE monogram like there are with Wolf, Viking, and Thermador. Sure, not as many people have them, but so far, they haven't got the piles of hate mail from this forum's members like the others do

Burners: The sealed vs open burners are not a deal maker/breaker for me, and the BTUs, while not BS level, seemed adequate for my needs.