SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lionheart_gw

What I Learned the First Year - Journal

I've "grown" tomatoes before. You know, you pick up whatever plant variety is available at the box stores or local nurseries, put them in the ground, and, with luck, you might get an edible tomato.

Then I found this forum. Bunch of enablers here. :-)

Regardless of reading through the forums to gather information, we uninitiated still hit some of the pitfalls despite the warnings of the more experienced folks here. It comes with the territory, I guess.

* End of February. Dear heavens, all those seeds available for the heirloom varieties! The descriptions sound wonderful. Ok, one of these, one of those. Oh, have to try this one, too.

Before you know it you have 20 packets of seeds. The vendor must have thought I was a farmer. There's got to be a 12-step program for this affliction.

* March. Gave half of each packet of seeds to a co-worker. Insanity loves company. Now we're both overwhelmed.

* Purchased 2 different varieties of seed starting soil and lots of cheap plastic containers with lids; better for keeping the mix moist until germination. Where am I going to put all these? No problem, I'll find room.

* We are having the kitchen and bath remodeled in the small "in-law" apartment, where we live. Since the apartment is up a flight of stairs and my mother can no longer manage stairs, we get the apartment and she has the huge downstairs part of the house.

All the objects from the kitchen and bath are stored in the living room -- cabinets, plastic containers full of silverware, pots, pans, and grooming products; stuff waiting for new homes. It's an obstacle course. If you have claustrophobia you wouldn't want to be here.

There's still a little bit of room over in the corner, next to the couch. So I rescued the old over-the-toilet glass shelving unit, still in great shape. I'll put the containers of seeds on that.