SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
stephynb

SFG newbie questions: placement, rotation, seedlings

stephynb
15 years ago

Greetings forum.

Although my father was a big french intensive method fanatic back in the day, this is my first time trying to do anything with a garden since I was a kid. We've recently decided to stay at least 5 years in the current house so it finally makes it worth while to do something and I've decide that with our slightly formal backyard with a slight slope, SFG is the way to go.

But I have (quite) a few (possibly stupid) questions...

ADDENDUM: yup, I previewed, and it is a lot of questions. I apologize in advance.

My yard runs E-W but because of the placement of neighboring trees, the ideal location for the garden is along the N fence because the south half is shaded quite a bit.

1. However, the garden area would get 6+ hours of sun a day but not all at once (it would be split AM and PM). I got confused reading another site on what "full sun" and "partial sun" meant which triggered this question. They seemed to suggest that "partial sun" sometimes meant "not continuous sun." Is this "split sun" a problem?

2. I'm laying out 10 4x4 boxes with 2x12s. My yard is sloped sufficiently that in order for the backs of some of the boxes to be 6" above grade, the fronts will be 12" above grade. If the pattern is 2x5 (two rows of 5) running E-W, can you put trellises on the second row of beds if you have 3 feet between beds? I can just squeeze in 6 against the fence with 4 in the 2nd row if I can't in order to maximize trellis area.