SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hwy66jan

Hi Everyone from a new 'Transplant'!

Hwy66Jan
18 years ago

Hi y'all. Thank you for letting me join your group. I'm a newcomer here - just joined the forum and just moved to Colorado last August after 20 years in the Phoenix area. I have a lot of experience pulling Bermuda Grass! Actually I do love pulling weeds in the spring. There's nothing like that satisfying velcro rip sound when you get the weed entire. My experience with forums began in December of 2004 when my son left his academic scholarship and enlisted in the US Marine Corps. I joined a great forum for new Marine parents - what a blessing THAT was, but that's another story....

I live in the Olde Towne West Historic District of Longmont in a little old home that was built in 1929, I believe. I fell in love with this home's old garden and was "sold" even before I looked inside the house. I have never seen a more perfectly planned and executed old garden. The only things that were originally misplaced or mis-selected were the two (you guessed it) junipers on either side of the front steps. They are gone now. Other than that, the lilacs, quince, abelia (I think), spiraeas, cornus, climbing (now rambling) rose, apple, elm (I think) and red cedar were PERFECTLY placed and spaced, as well was the adorable flagstone patio at the south side that connects to the walkway and backyard terrace via three steps.