SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
nixta_gw

Startying a Backyard Nursery from Scratch

Nixta
12 years ago

I am going to start my own small nursery and I am looking for some more information to help me get started. I have already read other threads on the same topic, so I'm going to be as specific as I can here with my goals and questions. My biggest goal the first year is to gain experience. I don't anticipate making much money, or possibly breaking even with my setup costs. I am 21 and have a long time to learn. Hopefully this will be the first step in starting the nursery business I've been dreaming of for three years.

First, I live in CT and our last frost is around May 15- June 3. I have a few perennials that I have sold and will continue to grow, but I would like to grow annuals for sale in spring next year. I am going to build a greenhouse and I anticipate having about 200 square feet of growing space. Once the greenhouse is up, I will calculate how many plants I can reasonably grow. I took a peek around the neighborhood and noticed that the most popular annuals are impatiens, French marigolds, and red geraniums, so these are the plants I wish to grow. I also noticed that most people grow these in patio pots that they probably replant every season. I have decided on the 'Patriot' variety of geranium and found a grower that sells rooted and unrooted cuttings. I am opting for rooted cuttings to diminish the chance of failure since I have not had much luck rooting cuttings of my own geraniums. The impatiens and marigolds I will grow from seed. When should I order the geraniums and sow the impatiens and marigolds so they will be ready to be planted in early June? Also, what pests should I be prepared for that are common problems with these plants?