SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dsb12112

Absolute Newbie - what am I doing here???

dsb12112
17 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am an absolute newbie and am here hoping one of the many experts I see here could give me some really basic straight forward help. This is my first garden of any type and I am sure I am doing everything wrong!! lol

I've been reading as much as I can but don't know a lot of the real basics. Can you help? Keep in mind you might laugh at some of my questions because they just don't make sense! :)

1.) I bought my various pepper plants from a farmer's market and they were all about 15" high. Is there a way for me to tell how old they are?

2.) When the little tag says 70-75 days to maturity does that mean when a seed starts showing green until the point when the peppers are ready to pick?

3.) How do you pick these peppers??? I have one pepper that's about 2" inches long and super bright red so it seems like it's ready to pick. Do I cut the stem it's on with clippers? Twist it off? If clipped, how far above the top of the pepper do I clip the stem?

4.) How do I know the peppers are actually ripe?

5.) The one I have that is super bright red, what would happen if it just sat on the stem for a while longer? Will it spoil if it's not picked as soon as it's ripe?

6.) I have read people recommending nitrogen and epsom salts. Is this a good idea? How do I test the soil to figure out what my plants need (note that these are all in ground).

7.) Am I supposed to be picking off some flowers or leaves to help growth? If so, how do I do that and which ones do I choose? I'm afraid if I cut some of this stuff it'll never grow back! :)

8.) How much should I be watering? I know based on rain fall... but combined with that, how many total inches of water a week?