SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
flosdiner_gw

Overwhelmed by pests

flosdiner
14 years ago

This is my first post on this site and I may be asked to post some images but I thought the sooner I write in for help the better!

I have inherited a garden in Brooklyn where I have been living for under a year. I had previously had a garden in Brooklyn so I have some experience but I have not had one in this country for 4 years so I am a little rusty.

My garden is infested with many different varieties of pests. I want to figure out the best plan of action to tackle all of these.

My hybrid tea roses have black spot and aphids, which I assume has occurred from the ants roaming around in the soil underneath. (I should note I had mulched a few months ago using cedar.)I trimmed down the roses, disinfected everything and sprayed a ortho product very lightly even though I prefer home garden remedies.

My rose bush which is not near the hybrid teas has a huge colony of aphids including winged aphids. I cannot see ants in the soil of this bed though this has been mulched too with pine. It is a shady area mostly. It is close to bamboo but there aren't many things planted in this bed yet.

I have another small tree in the same bed as the hybrid teas, someone said it could be a non flowering dogwood though the leaves are red. They look wilted and curled under but I cannot find any aphids on this plant. Next to it is a green fern like leaf which has strange looking black small bugs that may have wings. I cannot identify what they are.

I also realize I have clover mites(those little red dot bugs), now in my house a bit as well! I am planting an herb container which I plan to keep upstairs on my little patio to ensure that they will be free of these pests. Any preventive measures I should take?