SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
andy10917

This Hosta Forum

12 years ago

I'd like to make a few comments about the atmosphere in this Forum...

I've been reading and occasionally posting here since 2008. There is plenty of good material here, but there is an attitude of an "in-crowd that you will never be part of", and some of the in-crowd have a self-righteous judge/jury thing going that makes those that are not part of the in-crowd feel unwelcome.

I'm no newbie to Hosta, or to forums. I have over 650 hosta, and am the Soil Management and Composting moderator at another large forum. I have over 6,300 postings there.

When Ken made mention of a site/vendor owned by the president of the AHS, and said that he had never purchased there, I added a posting saying that I had purchased there and was very pleased with my hosta, I was singled out by Les as a shill. And the message was filled with attitude. I can only tell you that if a person did that on a Forum that I moderate, they could expect both a mild public rebuke and a pointed private rebuke. It is certainly not an response that encourages the casual member to do more posting.

I hope whoever moderates this Forum spends 10 minutes and takes a look at how welcoming the members are to the newer or casual visitor.

Comments (24)

• 12 years ago

Everyone has a different type of personality, sometimes people have a bad day, some have different viewpoints.

You shouldn't take things personally. If you let things that are said online get to you it will make you miserable. Just let them roll off your back and keep moving on. I hold no ill feelings against anyone online. Life is too short.

There is a wealth of information to be had here. Don't let a bump in the road disuade you from taking part, sharing what you know and learning from others.

• 12 years ago

Excusing inexcusable behavior doesn't fly. Somebody needs to call a Bully a bully.