SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
firefightergardener

My conifer gardens

Fletcher gardens. Est. 2007. Hah!

Since the weather outside is frightful and the picture sharing seems to be peaking, I figured I take some pictures of my place with some before/after shots and share them with you fine folks here.

For backround, I am a firefighter and bought my house in 2006. I didn't care much for any plants at that point but over the last two years I've been struck by nasty disease, "coniferious infectious grandtitis", a very wicked strain that usually shows several symptoms including ceaselessly searching the internet for conifer information and online plant sources usually followed by inexorbant spending on tiny 'strange' plants that puzzle the neighbors and syptoms also include compulsive planting and replanting to account for sunlight, eventual size and color/texture schemes.

When I bought the house, the previous landscaping was in disarray. Apparently the previous owners were indifferent to gardening.

Front yard evolution:

Front yard, Summer 2006

{{gwi:633419}}

Summer 2007

{{gwi:866601}}

Spring 2008

{{gwi:866603}}

Front yard, December 2008

Side bed, before

{{gwi:866607}}

Side bed, after

{{gwi:866609}}

Front walk path, a couple of the conifers to the left are Cham nootkatensis `Green Arrow', Picea Sitchensis 'Papoose', Picea Pungens 'The Blues', Abies Koreana 'Blaue Eskimo', Abies Koreana 'Silver Pearl', Picea Abies 'Brno' and a few others who's name escapes me at the moment.

{{gwi:866611}}

Conifers here include Picea Omorika 'Peve Tijn', Pinus Syvelstris 'Jeremy', Picea Glauca 'Gnome', Picea Glauca 'Pixie', Abies Procera 'Blaue Zwo', Picea Omorika 'Wodan' and Abies Veitchii 'Rumburk'

{{gwi:866613}}

From left to right, Abies Procera 'Blaue Hexe', Juniper 'Compressa', Cedrus Deodar, 'Snow Sprite', Cham.Pis? 'True Blue', Thuja Occ. 'Morgan' and Picea Abies 'Mrs. Cerrasini'. Forgive my awful spelling.

{{gwi:866615}}