SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
firefightergardener

A new project, just a few pics

My backyard is really my last large scale conifer project. I have about a 120'x80'x80' triangle of space that gets anywhere from full shade to full sun. I've planted about half of the plants I'd like to put in, but I have not laid any 'paths' yet to meander through it.

Recently, I went to Lowe's andhad about 500 nifty blocks and 4 cubic yards of pebbles delivered(they call it quarter inch-minus). The plan is to have winding paths amongst the conifer and maple beds, the rock garden, the mass planting and as well as paths around from the side yards and around the pond. The best part is that the loan is 12 months no interest, no payments and no 'rewinding interest' either, a pretty sweet deal considering the state of the economy.

Well, I'm no professional landscaper and the 'curves' and paths are still a work in progress(I'm going to smooth the current curves out a bit, larger curves, less of them),. but you get an idea what I am planning. I laid weedblock for where the quarter inch-minus is going to be tamped down so it should be largely weed free once it's finished.

I'd welcome suggestions or problems anyone could forsee, but in the end, I'm not expecting a perfect job, just a nice 3' wide path I can walk around and enjoy all these wonderful plants.

Had to get a monster wheelbarrow for moving all the stones out back.

{{gwi:862340}}

Any suggestions for the circlular planting? I'd prefer one plant, 4' wide max in twenty years. A favorite plant. I was thinking either 'Skylands', Picea Mariana 'Auerovariagata', 'Silberlocke(too wide?)' or one of the Picea Omorika varieties.

{{gwi:862342}}

{{gwi:862344}}

Comments (41)

• dcsteg
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

firefightergardner...I couldn't copy the link for this... so here it is in the long form. You might not have a care...but for what it's worth.