SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mcav0y_gw

too early to plant bulbs?

mcav0y
18 years ago

I would like some crocus (crocuses, croci??) and daffodils in the spring. I am a beginner gardener, and have been told that you plant bulbs in the fall. I am starting back to work in the next few weeks, and want to get some projects taken care off before then. Can I plant bulbs now? It is in the 60's right now, and our first frost is usually mid-Sept.

Comments (21)

• abgardeneer
    18 years ago

Well, there are two things. I don't know where you'd get bulbs yet, as they don't generally come into the stores until late August here, and mail order places don't ship to customers until much later - the end of September through October, in my experience. Are they already available where you are?
    Secondly, I'm not certain but I think there might be a risk that bulbs, planted this early (if you were able to get them to plant), might start to sprout this season, rather than waiting until spring. If it did happen, it would seem that energy stored in the bulbs would be wasted on producing foliage this season, when what you really intend is that it will go towards putting on a good show in spring. I think this might apply to tulips and daffodils; however, other small bulbs such as grape hyacinths commonly start to put out foliage in late summer/fall (but don't bloom) and it has no obvious negative effect on their spring blooming, that I can see.
    Anyway, just a couple of scattered thoughts on the subject...

• northspruce
    18 years ago

I have heard of daffodils also sprouting a bit in the fall with no adverse effects. Like ABG said you will have to find the bulbs for sale but late August doesn't seem unreasonably early to me for any of the spring bulbs.