SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
debbieca_gw

I think I am losing interest in gardening

debbieca
17 years ago

HELP! : ) I did plant a half dozen new perennials and shrubs this fall. I tried sowing a winter veggie garden, but only the beets sprouted. I have winter sowed a dozen varieties and have the same amount to go, and a few of those are new interesting things that may or may not grow here. I was last spring and summer very interested in helenium and I do have some sown. But now I don't have anything I want to grow. I go to the nurseries and say, seen that, done it. I look through catalogs and think that will take a lot of cutting back, and just don't see anything I want to grow. Is this the beginning of the end? I have always been what my sweetie calls streaky, moving from one interest to the next, but I have been gardening heartily for ten years now and thought it was a fixed interest. What to do?

Comments (49)

• todancewithwolves
    17 years ago

You desperately need a trip to Annie's! 2 acres of unusual plants and California natives. It will spur your creative juices, I promise.

This year her plants are coming to Southern California nurseries.

If there's anything you see on her website you'd like, I can pick it up and ship it to you a lot cheaper.

I bought a baby Selago Serrata last spring. It' should bloom this year and I can hardly wait. So far it's been the hardiest plant in may garden.

Here is a link that might be useful: Selago serrata

• fammsimm
    17 years ago

Debbie,

It's probably just a case of after-the-holidays- blahs. It will pass. :-)

Have you thought about adding a new, cute birdhouse, or perhaps a new trellis to your garden? Maybe a relaxing garden bench, with comfy pillows, to sit back and enjoy the fruits of your labors. Sometimes just a little something that's new can jump start an interest.

Hang in there, this will pass. :-)

Marilyn

• Related Discussions

Losing my azaleas, Or: Am I a hole-digging loser?

Q

Comments (3)