SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tracytemp_gw

Pls help w/ planting Dahlias in containers (lots)

tracytemp
18 years ago

Thanks in advance for your input and please forgive such a long post. This is my first attempt at this & I really don't want to mess up. A friend from up North gave me 14 different Dahlias and I live right in the middle of a deer path with not a whole lot of places in the sun to plant! Tenting off an area is not really possible. I have decided to plant my dahlias in containers but I am a bit overwhelmed at the thought of so many. Do I have to plant just one in each container?

I truly have no clue! I currently have 2 large 18x19" pots and 2 tapered 17" and 1large 22x19 and could get several whiskey barrels.

I just opened the box now to find some of them are sprouting!! What to do??

Heres what I have with their descriptions:

1- VERA SEYFANG (AAFD) Introduced in 1958. 12" blooms are of a rich orchid pink. Very sturdy plant with excellent foliage. Great stems for such a large variety. Bush height 3'. Late bloomer.

----------

2- CRAZY LEGS: Introduced in 1990. 3" blooms of burnt apricot with red reverse. Strong stems are well proportioned on the 4' bush. The foliage is outstanding. Prolific bloomer

----------

3- POPPERS (BBSC) Introduced in 2001. This variety is a sport from the variety Mary Lee McNall. The 4' bush has the lush, lacy foliage and good stem producing plant. The 5" blooms are a golden yellow splashed with red.

----------

4- BABYLON BRONZE Golden orange. Truly as big as a dinner plate, these specially selected prize-winning size dahlias are the most spectacular. Large No.1 size clumps

----------

5- WOWIE (CO) Introduced in 1998. bright 3 1/2" blooms of brilliant orange red with a starkly contrasting white collar. Holds extremely well among the collarettes as a cutflower. Bush height of 3 1/2'

----------