SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
fruitnut_gw

Citrus culture: ornamental vs sweet fruit

Am I the only one that sees a difference between growing citrus as an ornamental vs for sweet fruit? Ornamental culture involves frequent watering and fertilizer. Maximizing fruit quality, for sweet citrus, involves a water deficit and limited growth. Lemons and limes where sweetness isn't needed should be good grown as an ornamental.

Any comments welcome. I'm still learning and citrus isn't my primary interest. So feel free to educate me if needed.

Comments (37)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    Original Author
    11 years ago

denninmi:

Maybe there aren't many on this forum interested in sweet fruit. Most of the pictures I see are the beautiful green plants with active growth. My plants have one or two flushes a year. I'm really shooting for just one in spring around fruit set. After fruit is fully set I'm pulling back on water and don't want more growth. I think this is the avenue to really sweet fruit. It certainly works for nectarines and plums.

• Related Discussions

Yams vs Sweet Potatoes

Q

Comments (48)