SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
brookenstein

Need help designing my now dirt covered slope

Brookenstein
18 years ago

Hi! I am a newbie to gardening and looking for some direction. I have an ugly dirt covered slope with a sad looking lemon tree. There is a water supply to the hill, but at this point it is one broken pipe that just pours out water if that zone of the sprinkler system is on. I think I can figure out how to rig it to water most of the hill. The right side of the slope is full sun and the left side gets just a hint of shade from the tree on the left side. The front of the house is facing south.

I want to plant plants that use a minimal amount of water and need next to no maintenenace. I want things that do not overly attract bees, insects, or drop berries. I don't mind attracting birds or butterflies (unless they are bad and I don't know that yet, lol) I have small children as well as a dog and so of course, nothing that could be potentially poisonous.

I've tried doing searches on types of plants for CA's climate and whatnot, but what I'm really having a hard time with is knowing what types of plants to plant together and in what order (i.e. ground cover, short, tall, shrubs, trees and then placement of them).

We are getting ready to replace the fence and I would do my gardening after that of course. When is a good time for me to start planting? What do I need to do to prepare the ground prior to planting?

I've enclosed some pics to give you an idea of what the space looks like. Thanks in advance!!!

{{gwi:551064}}

{{gwi:551065}}

{{gwi:551066}}

{{gwi:551067}}

Comments (36)

• Bob_B
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Where do you live? What is your soil like? What level of maintenance, if any, are you prepared to provide? Sounds like you are willing to water. You ask a good question, but you provide little information that would help in providing an intelligent and useful answer.

Bob

• Brookenstein
    Original Author