SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
trianglejohn

TJ's tale of woe

trianglejohn
18 years ago

Today it's my turn to whine.

Last Friday my father fell off the roof of the new garage he was building and broke his neck and a few bones in his chest. The man is in his late 70's and should no better than to attempt this sort of thing with his poor eyesight and fear of heights. He's in the hospital where I worked as a janitor and later as a dishwasher while in high school and much later as a scrub tech in surgery while going to college. Kinda odd the way life makes big loopy circles. They say that his recovery will take 3-4 months and for that he will have to live in an assisted living facility with respiratory therapy. Luckily there is one such place in the small town that they live in, and its close enough that my mother can drive all alone whenever she wants.

My mom is a real piece of work, moody, difficult and withdrawn, her depression has only gotten worse over time. At least this situation has got her out of bed and up and at 'em. She is so hard to spend large amounts of time with that all five kids are afraid to go home. Our solution is to take the tag team approach and fly home in shifts with a few days overlapping so we can smooth out any rough edges before my brothers or sisters go home and take it out on their families.

I secretly hope that while conducting her bedside vigil my dad's medical team notice HER poor health and give her a full work up. Or as I said to my sister when she called - we finally have mom in the same room with a doctor! Now's our chance.

So it looks like my winter will be spent with multiple trips to the prairie - thank god I have a flexible job.