SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lamora_gw

when is a good time to re-pot my Easter Cacti?

Lamora
11 years ago

Hi All. I have 2 Easter Cactus, small ones, and they have stopped blooming. I wanted to put them both in the same pot when it was time.

I understood that almost anytime AFTER they stop blooming is a good time for re-potting, or is there another time I should do this?

They were Mother's Day presents for me and I would really love not to hurt them. So when can I put them in the same pot? And will Al's 5-1-1 mix do? or should I get some other soil for it. Right now they are in the same soil/pot that my daughter got them from- (Walmart of all places)

Thanks for any help- advice and input on this..

Marjie :)

Comments (33)

• pirate_girl
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Lamora,

I strongly recommend that you not repot these or join them together. They are not easy or forgiving plants. I've been growing in this apartment for more than 15 yrs. & I just recently threw out ANOTHER EC I've killed, that's somewhere btwn 4 & 6 that I've already lost & I'm quite an experienced grower.

Sorry, I guess you want to repot & this is not what you wish to hear, but this is the best I can offer.

Since they're Mother's Day gifts & you say you 'would really love not to hurt them', I vote leave them be exactly as is & hope to learn their care that way, read all you can, but do little or nothing to change their circumstances.

• mrlike2u
    11 years ago

EC re-potting are you Ready ?

Personally if mine to re-pot I'd wait until a better time like early/ middle Autumn season when EC new growth is at it's slowest and sunlight timing is more idle and maybe replicate inside.

If you must by reasons of: If it's now in peat based soil or roots are shifting outward of pot or just to have the experience of saying I did something someone else couldn't do. Then there is something else to consider.

{{gwi:549335}}