SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
wanna_run_faster

Can someone tell me about the canna virus?

wanna_run_faster
18 years ago

I'm new to cannas and, having just spent a tidy sum adding to my new collection, I want to avoid losing any to cross contaminated or infection. So can some one please tell me what to look for and how to handle it if it should appear? Thanks in advance. :)

Comments (25)

• wolflover
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm no expert on canna viruses, but here's my two cents on the subject. There are two viruses that I know of. Bean Yellow Mosaic and Canna Yellow Mottle virus, though I believe the latter is the virus giving us so much trouble in the USA. These viruses are becoming more widespread every year and are very much threatening our collections of cannas. I first became aware of it/them 4-5 years ago after receiving diseased cannas in a trade. The first cannas looked kind of cool. They had some almost neon green steaks running through the leaves (Intrigue and Red Stripe cannas) and were quite beautiful to begin with. Later on they became distorted, stunted and had brown and dying leaves. New plants came up very stunted and strange looking. Eventually I wound up digging the plants and throwing them away, as the new plants coming up all appeared to be infected. The same year, and the next couple summers, I received several more trades of diseased cannas from traders here on Garden Web, though nobody seemed to know what was wrong with them.