SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
agirlsgirl

Hi, WS newbie here looking for advice!:)

agirlsgirl
16 years ago

Hi all,this is my first post here although I have been here everyday reading up and trying to gather as much info as I can.My first question is...When using Milk jugs,when it comes time to vent them(for harding off) how exactly do you do this? I know when using plastic wrap you just make the hole bigger little by little but with the milk jugs or other containers like them, how is this done?

Also.I have been here reading all the wonderful responses to questons and I would like to thank all of you for your excellent explanations to questions,you all are so patient and kind,you really encourage people!:)

I would also like to take this opportunity to ask each of you to post something you may feel is important for a newbie to know,maybe somthing you learned your first year,something you would not do again or something you have always done since you started WS because it worked out so well.Or,just something you have learned over the years to be effective.I know all of you have probably posted these tips here and there through out the forum over the years,but I thought it would be nice to have them all in one thread for the start of the WS season.For us newbies and maybe even a few of the "oldies" would like to read a few tips that maybe by some chance they havent seen before.

Thank you and have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Comments (31)

• bakemom_gw
    16 years ago

I put my sprouted containers in dappled shade. When it's time to "vent" I just whip my tops off like gardeners gone wild.

As for my tip - never never ever use cheap potting soil. EVER!

Need seeds? I have tons.

• trudi_d
    16 years ago

I don't ever cap the jugs; the spout acts like a flu and vents out most heat. If I really need too I add some gashes to the top and/or attach a clothepin to the bottom half so the top half can't make a close seal--that seems to do the trick for me.