SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
friesfan1

Things you learn the hard way

friesfan1
15 years ago

Okay, so this is my first year at WS.

And today I planted out my Bachelor Button that were

busting at the seams and some Wallflower.

The Wallflowers were planted in little 3oz dixie cups

and were just not getting any taller. But I needed to

really get some in the ground so I went ahead and

put them out. I found that probably the reason they were

getting stunted is that the roots had already hit the

bottom of the cup with no where else to go.

I also have spouts that have gone a missing. Meaning

that a few days ago they were there and now gone.....

Mostly due to my fault, as we had rain and I think they

got drowned :-(

Next year I think I will do things a bit differently and

either plan on having beds ready and getting them in

the ground sooner or using bigger cups.

Have lots more cups to plant and hopefully they will live

to maturity.

Any newbies with comments or things they have learned?

Insight is so valuable!

Thanks,

Mary

Comments (29)

• retiredprof
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Mary: I have a few "learnings:"

I won't start anything GUL anymore. My WS'd toms have taken off and way surpassed the babies I fretted over for weeks in my basement.

RE: the above. I'll never use peat pots again.

I have a heavy hand when sowing seeds in containers. Next year I'll be more gentle.

Don't fret over stuff that doesn't germinate quickly. Be patient. And if it looks like all is lost, get over it and move on. Try again next year.

Prof

• dirtbert
    15 years ago

I'm keeping better track of when I see sprouts. Not crazy details, just jotting down what numbered containers have sprouts about once a week.
    That way, next year I won't be fretting "why don't I have sprouts yet?!?!"
    Although, I don't really "fret" about anything. But it will help me to be patient (or that's the theory anyways).

• Related Discussions