SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
linnea56chgo5b

Too late to plant in Zone 5?

Due to too much time spent out of town this summer, I never got a group of small-potted perennials planted. Is it now too late? I have never tried planting in October before. They are columbine, Rozanne geranium, and astilbe (and a few others...!). I'm Zone 5, north of Chicago.

Thanks!

Comments (17)

• paulan70
    16 years ago

I am still planting out here in Indiana and I think as long as the plants have a few weeks to adjust and to a get a hold of the ground before it freezes over it should be fine to plant out.

Paula

• aachenelf z5 Mpls
    16 years ago

Yes, I think you should be OK. The only thing I've had trouble with this late is iris. They really need to be planted in late August to make it through the winter.

Kevin

• mehearty
    16 years ago

Dang. I kept meaning to dig up an iris tuber to split it. Sounds like it's too late.

• gottagarden
    16 years ago

I've found it almost impossible to kill iris at any time of year . . .

• hostared
    16 years ago

Hi Linnea,
    Your fine in our area. I just planted some bargains yesterday. In our Windy City zone I would only suggest that you crush some leaves down and mulch when the ground freezes. This will help if there is any winter heeving.
    You can go ahead and plant safely here till the end of Oct.
    Just give them a blanket.

• linnea56 (zone 5b Chicago)
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks! Now all I have to do is make myself leave the warm coffee and the fluffy cat and go out there.
    (No, I know no one can help me with that part!)

• mehearty
    16 years ago

Thank you gottagarden. I'll do some digging today. =)

• mxk3 z5b_MI
    16 years ago

Nope, there's still time to plant. In my experience, the cut-off date for my neck of the woods is first week of November. Heck, I've planted shrubbery the first week of November (got FANTASTIC deal), and came through the winter beautifully.