SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
duodecad

How to get a grip on existing soil in beds?

duodecad
16 years ago

Hi all-- this is my first visit to this forum, so I hope I'm posting this question in the right place! I'm hoping for some advice on how to deal with the soil in an old neglected garden.

I'm a newbie to gardening, and I've taken on responsibility for a 2-acre garden that was really well-tended about 20 years ago, but has since been pretty badly neglected. Possibly I am out of my mind for doing this, but that's a separate issue-- all I can say is, it seemed like a good learning opportunity at the time :)

The garden is full of raised beds, bordered with stone, with dirt paths running between them. Unfortunately, the beds (and paths) are now filled with grass and invasives. Each bed is basically a thick mat of grass roots; the only thing that comes up through the grass are the really fierce invasives like blackberries, thistles, ivy, and that horrible invasive sweet pea that plagues the Bay Area (no, it's not the good-smelling kind, it's the thug kind!). These are all listed in the California Invasive Plant Inventory. Once I found that out, I felt even more of a responsibility to get a grip on the situation-- not just for the sake of this garden, but to prevent these invasives from spreading even more.