SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
gtippitt

Composting wood chips from tree service

gtippitt
13 years ago

I have a few questions about composting wood chips from a tree service. I've been composting for many years, but I've never had a large amount of wood chips to compost before, so I wanted to get some advice. In the past I've mainly composted lawn clippings, lots of leaves, and kitchen waste. These will normally heat up quickly and within 2 weeks have cooled enough to use around my plants for mulch and fertilizer.

A tree service was cutting limbs and saplings from beneath power lines near my house. I stopped and asked, and they brought me truck load when they were finished. I was really glad to see that the mix has lots of green leaves because they were cutting limbs and small saplings. There is about twice as much green leaves and twigs as there is white wood chips. The wood chips range from finger nail sized to pieces the size of a medium size cigar. It has enough green that after 24 hours, it is already too hot to hold my hand in the chips for more than about short time. I could not find my thermometer this afternoon to see exactly how hot it has gotten, but I'm guessing over 140 F based on past experience with other large piles of chopped leaves and grass clippings.

I'm using the chips for the bottom layer of a new raised bed for strawberries. I've put an inch of newspaper to suppress grass and 2 feet of wood chips to form the base of the bed. After this has heated up, cooled down, and settled, I'm going to top it off with 3 inches of finished compost I already have. I've read lots of conflicting info about how much the chips will steal nitrogen.

Question 1: I know the wood chips will take a long time to break down completely, which is fine by me as they prevent compaction and improve drainage. How long should I expect it to take for the mix to cool down enough that I can transplant strawberries from containers into the bed without them being "cooked"?