SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
knoxrosetn

What I thought was BS turns out 2 be sawflies, don't I feel silly

KnoxRose z7
9 years ago

Ok, so I am new to growing roses, this is probably evident from the title of my post, but I have acquired over 15 rose bushes over the past couple of months, most of them are planted in a mixed boarder around my front porch, but a few are in pots on said porch. About half of them have been afflicted with these grayish spots for most of the time that I have had them, seeing that they were dark in color and widespread I naturally assumed that this is the infamous blackspot I have read so much about on this forum.

WELL, apparently I have been horribly mistaken, I just returned home from my favorite local greenhouse, and while I was there shopping for roses (that I certainly don't need and barely have room for--I have this problem--I know most of you will understand what I mean)
As I was asking the bush and shrub expert about a struggling Ebb Tide I have (the leaves are turning bright yellow and the buds seem to be dying before they even have time to flower- if you have helpful info I'll be glad to hear any) I look over at a random rose that is nearby and it also has my familiar gray spotting & I just happen to think to ask "is this blackspot?" and she says, "No, that it is damage from a sawfly." Well my mouth just fell right open. Don't I just feel super silly that I have been reading up on blackspot for weeks, trying to find out how to prevent it & treat it organically, yadda yadda, and this whole time I have been researching the wrong thing.