SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
drmuffinz

Beginner's Question - How much growth can I expect in a year?

DrMuffinz
10 years ago

Apologies for the silly question in advance, but I am new to this rose business and haven't been able to find a general answer (my searches seem to pop up more info on climbers).

I've only bought established 2-3 gallon roses thus far, and I was wondering what the suggested pot size to plant a band or gallon would be in (I am assuming that the 10 gallon pots I've been using would be overwhelming for bands and/or gallons)?

I'm also wondering what kind of growth I might be able to expect (or hope for!) by the end of the summer. Can I hope to get blooms from bands?

P.S. I'm hoping to get bands of Souvenir du President Lincoln, Queen Nefertiti, Treasure Trail (from RVR), 1 gallons of Saratoga and Honeysweet or Enchanted Autumn (from RU), and am trying to decide between grafted 3 gallon or single own-root gallons of Lady Emma Hamilton and Abe Darby (local nursery or RU).

Comments (22)

• ingrid_vc so. CA zone 9
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I garden far away from your zone but my general understanding is that bands are often difficult to raise in areas where there isn't a long warm season. If you did have a band you would want to transplant it into a pot no larger than a 1-gallon pot. Sometimes bands already arrive with some buds or blooms which you would probably want to pinch off in order to promote root and leaf growth (I know, it's hard). Even in my warm climate my band of Pretty Jessica did not bloom much the next summer and even now (the summer after) it's not putting out a lot of blooms. Sophy's Rose, however, bloomed quite a bit the first summer so it very much depends on the rose and how well it likes your climate. I don't want to say much more than that since overwintering roses is something I know nothing about, or for that matter anything more than what I've already said, which would apply to gardens generally.