SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lkplatow

Has anyone ever dealt with Rose Rosette Disease?

lkplatow
15 years ago

I posted last week on the antique roses forum about some weird growth on one of my roses and learned more than I ever wanted to know about RRD. It's clear that at least one of my roses is infected, as well as a ton of the wild multiflora growing near my house.

I'm questioning some of the growth on other bushes - particularly knockouts and fire meidilands. I only planted these last spring, so I don't know what normal spring growth looks like for them. Can anyone take a look at my thread (particularly the album I link to around post 25 or so) and tell me whether I've got a full-fledged epidemic of RRD or whether I'm just being paranoid. Any advice for dealing with this would be greatly appreciated. I'm fairly new to roses and have only planted low-maintenance antique and shrub roses because I thought they were immune to everything, LOL, and the thought of having to deal with a disease and spray pesticide and stuff is freaking me out.

Thanks so much for any help you can offer!

Here is a link that might be useful: My thread on the Antique Roses forum

Comments (17)

• User
    15 years ago

Hi - I'm so sorry to hear that you are dealing with this awful disease! My Climbing Pinkie had a "suspect"cane last year. It was totally separate from the main plant, so I cut it out and am keeping my fingers crossed, so far so good. I HAVE seen infected multiflora in my area, though, so although I am certainly no expert, I can offer the comment that at least to me your KOs look ok. I have KO, and its new growth does tend to be reddish. Hopefully some much more knowledgeable people will weigh in on this, but in the meantime, please accept my condolences and my (unfortunately relatively uneducated) guess that your KOs are ok.