SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
vic_zn5

Using a greenhouse this time of year?

Vic Billings, MT
16 years ago

Hi All,

I'm new to the whole greenhouse thing, and rooting cuttings. I am trying to do the cuttings in pots with bags over them, not much luck.

My question, can I put these in my greenhouse to root? Will it get too hot? And do I keep them in the bags? I don't have a lot of room or a good place to put all my cuttings and the greenhouse would be perfect.

It is a portable model 6x6 "springhouse" by Flowerhouse. and has a shade cover.

TIA ~ Vic

Comments (52)

• stressbaby
    16 years ago

Yes and yes.

Right now, in the GH, under mist, I have cuttings of Salix Hakuru Nishiki, White Beautyberry, Leptodermis oblonga, Bouvardia longofolia, Odontonema callistachyum, Juanulloa aurantiaca, Breynia disticha 'Roseo-picta', Passiflora edulis 'McCain', Jasminum x stephanense, Jasminum polyanthum, Muntingia calabura, 18 different species of Hoyas, and probably half a dozen other things I can't remember right now. I have in past years also rooted Magnolias, Viburnums, Hibiscus, and many others. This is a great time of year to do it.

• Vic Billings, MT
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I'm doing a some of both, Gardenia, holly, roses, heavenly bamboo, pink smoke bush (really want this to work!) trumpet vine, and the list goes on.

Thanks to everyone for the advice!

Vic

• Related Discussions

Crazy Time of the Year

Q

Comments (10)