SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sujiwan_gw

Are you a member of a local rose club or society?

As a relatively younger member of an official garden club composed of mostly older retired ladies, I have seen how few new people actually join. Newbies are also more often retirees. Back in the day, our garden club was sort of like a Jr. League: white gloves, hats, teas but since the 70's has taken a much more egalitarian turn.

I had the pleasure of meeting a fellow OGR G-Webber this past week (Hi MaureeninMD!) and am the happy recipient of new rose starts to try. In our "getting to know you" discussions she lamented trying to start up a rose enthusiast social group in our area of Maryland and the difficulty in finding people that will take up the offer.

My thinking of why *I* would be a part of a plant specific group was to get to know and commiserate with other growers in our MidAtlantic zone 6, see what works in our gardens and to disperse any new information. If you are a total newbie, you get mentors or at least learn how-to and if you are a veteran, you get to dispense advise. There's a nice social aspect in getting to know other people in your area and to organize tours of gardens both historic and informal backyard do's.

I'm an informal member of our ARS group, but haven't been able to attend the meetings which often conflict with other schedules. PLus I have to fight traffic both ways to get there. I find myself wishing it wasn't in a different county.

I can get a lot of information online and in books. I participate in these forums. BUT there's nothing like meeting and becoming friends with a flesh and blood person with a similar obsession. :-)

Are you a participating member of any type of rose club? If not, what holds you back? Is this a passe idea for most people?

There's a least 2 Carroll Countians (MD) who would like to be part of something informal...

Comments (28)

• zeffyrose
    14 years ago