SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
vuwugarden

No Spring Flush but LOTS of Pics

vuwugarden
14 years ago

Okay, as promised, here are some before and after pics. The garden is still a working progress, but I hope you all enjoy the progression. Oh, btw, this is my first time posting pics so I hope I do it correctly.

Front garden bed in Summer of 2009. I was going for the cottage garden look. As you can see the little bands from Heirloom are being overcrowded by the other perennials. The blooming white rose bush is DA Winchester Cathedral.

{{gwi:244231}}

This is the same bed taken today, Spring of 2010. The shasta daisies have overtaken the bed. I need to thin them out ASAP.

{{gwi:244232}}

{{gwi:244233}}

First Spring bloom from DA Winchester Cathedral. Besides my Belinda's Dream, WC is the first and last to bloom in my garden.

{{gwi:244234}}

Now let's go to the backyard. WARNING: Please be seated prior to viewing the next photo. It may cause the faint hearted to swoon :-)

Site for Pergola, September 2009

{{gwi:244235}}

Pergola, pre-rose bed installation, October 2009

{{gwi:244236}}

Spring 2010. I don't know if you all can see the DIY paver base within the Pergola. It kinda settled unevenly. Oops, what's a gal to do but pray the roses will bloom soon to cover the imperfection.

{{gwi:244237}}

My favorite purchase from Lowe's: mushrooms!!!

{{gwi:244238}}

Start of East-side beds.

{{gwi:244239}}

Lyda Rose, the only single I own to date but not the last. It started as a band from Heirloom, but one couldn't tell by looking at it today.

{{gwi:244240}}

{{gwi:244241}}

Louise Odier, with one lone octopus cane. I could not stand it any longer, so this winter I cut the cane down to a foot high. She responded very well by sending out lots of side shoots. Look at the buds!!!

{{gwi:244243}}

{{gwi:244244}}

Oh, please excuse the ugly graft of the body bag rescue of a HT called Heirloom Rose. I vow to never purchase a body bag bare root again.