SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hind_sight_gw

Some questions about starting seeds indoors

hind_sight
12 years ago

Hi all, I am starting a bunch of seeds indoors this year and have read a lot of posts here, and a lot of information in books and on websites. I live in Northern GA and am starting a lot of my companion plants indoors(marigolds, nasturtiums, borage, dill, lovage), and some of my early veggies (broc/cauliflower, cabbage).

This is my first attempt at starting indoors. From what I have read, most sources seem to agree that a good strategy is to start in small square seedling trays under fluoro light, then once the first true leaves appear, transplant them to a larger pot and hold indoors under lights until it is time to plant outside.

I'm doing this in a spare bedroom of my house. I have the ceiling fan on low to keep the air ciculating. Room temp is a pretty constant 68 to 70 degrees. I have a seed heating mat that keeps soil temps to about 75 degrees and when a seed sprouts, I remove that seedling from the heating mat. The seedlings are in individual square eggcarton type plastic trays, 6 to a cluster. I usually wait until at least 3 sprout before removing from the heating mat. I have a hood with three 4' T8 bulbs that is 3" to 4" above the seedlings. The light is on a timer 12 hours on, 12 off in order to simulate the same daylight they will get when moved outdoors in April. I have read you can leave the lights on for longer but I don't know if that will cause the veggies to do strange things when the light suddenly goes from 24 hours to 12/12 and then the days slowly get longer as the season goes on.