SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
timsh

New to Organic Allotment Gardening

timsh
18 years ago

Hi Group,

I'm new to Garden Web and thought to post this to say hi and to let you know of the blog (web log) that I've started on my new allotment. I'm going to garden organically (is there any other way? :o) ) and look forward to participating in this forum to hopefully pick up tips and ideas.

http://allotmentclues.blogspot.com/

Tim

PS. As it's non-commercial and topic-related I thought that it would be okay to post the link here - I'll also include a link to Garden Web from there :o)

Here is a link that might be useful: Allotment Clues - My Blog

Comments (13)

• Pudgy
    18 years ago

Ok, I'm curious, why are you putting that polypro nonbreathable barrier down? If it is for killing the life in all the soil below it, you will be doing a fine job indeed. If you looking to do weed control, why not just mulch, which will add to the soil below gaining air, water and of course nutrients? If you are putting the barrier down to do weed control, I can promise you that seeds float in the air, animals burrow and dig, and people walk and transmit seeds this way as well. There never is a weed free garden, only one that is weeded. :) Is there some type of masochism involved in doing 'allotment' gardening?

• timsh
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Hi Pudgy. I did refer to this in my post of the 20th. It's only a temporary measure (say 6 months at most) to get rid of the perennial weeds (Horsetail, Couch Grass and Field Bindweed) that are there. I'm liberally 'pin-pricking' it, but intend also to open it up one side when the wind permits. In point of fact I intensly dislike any kind of permanent plastic weed barrier and intend to rely wholly on mulching come next spring. Nothing so drastic as this will ever happen again, I can promise you, but I didn't wish to do as was suggested by two other nearby allotmenteers, and resort to 'RoundUp'.