SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
catholicokie

The soapy spray thread ...

catholicokie
17 years ago

I would like start "clearinghouse" soapy spray thread.

I have been using soapy spray for about two months battling aphids on my cukes, catalope, orka, and watermelons. I have expirmented with different rates and application methods but would love to hear what your successes/failures have been.

I use a one gallon sprayer with two teaspoons of 'Dawn' soap. I apply the spray every other day and have had good luck controlling but not eliminating aphids on orka, cukes (trellised), and some chillies.

I apply the soap wait 10 mins and then use high pressure water hose to rinse...

I have had less sucess with my melons, squash, and corn.

I make every effort to spray "up" from the ground on the vine crops but I just don't get the same kill as I get with the upright and trellised plants.

I have also had some 'burn' problems with corn and chillies.

I would love to hear what the Forum Family expirences, both good and bad, have been with the soapy spray.

Vivare colare hortum est.

Comments (25)

• gumby_ct
    17 years ago

Not sure what you mean by 'clearinghouse' but I found an email I sent to my local aggie in 2004 asking for help....promise NOT to laugh?
    Below is a copy/paste...

Is the use of milk effective on Powdery Mildew? If so,
    is it also safe for use on tomatoes? It seems to be so
    much worse this year. First on the squash, then the
    pumpkins and cucumbers, now the tomatoes. To the point
    where it appears to be killing the plants. Help.

I'll share a story with you if you promise not to
    laugh. Earlier I had used half & half (about 1:8 with
    water) on my squash with what appeared to be moderate
    success. It seemed that I had to spray them everyday
    to have continued affect. So I increased the amount of
    half & half used. This seemed to help. Then aphids
    (never had a problem in past 4yrs) infested my