SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
clueless_in_alabama

Brick wall or plants over wet area of yard?

Hi all, I'm brand new to GardenWeb and hope I've got the most appropriate forum topic for my problem. We're in our first house (after condo life in San Diego) and although the house is great, if I could do it over again, I probably wouldn't have bought this one because of our problem back yard. As the guy who fertilizes the lawn says "you've got a real tough situation back there." And he doesn't know what to advise. There's a pretty steep hill that runs all along the back (probably 50-60 feet wide and 30 feet high). About the bottom 6-8 feet is wet almost all the time. Last year when we had the drought, it actually did dry out, but now it's back to staying pretty much mud (covered with pinestraw right now). The lawn along the bottom of the hill stays wet for days after it rains. This is what the lawn treatment guy is perplexed about: from the wetness, the ground has become pretty solid and it seems his treatments just wash away with any rain--nothing gets into the ground.

But forgetting the lawn right now, I want to know if any kind of planting could kind of soak up the wetness (did I explain I'm a complete novice? so take pity on me). The other idea that has been suggested--but very expensive--is to put in a brick wall about 2 feet high and then fill it with dirt. But if the whole area is wet, won't the water just seep under the brick and into the lawn?

I know you're going to ask: the contractor tells us that he did put in French drains and we can see the lines where they are since the grass is either thin or nonexistent where he put them. But they don't seem to do much good.

I'm totally lost at what to do. And a big issue in this is the mosquito problem: I'm prime mosquito bait and I can't go outside for even a minute without getting bitten. I'm thinking it must be because of this wetness of the yard.

Any suggestions?

Comments (30)

• mystic_dragon72