SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
maplegirl_gw

Lots of questions about starting seeds

maplegirl
15 years ago

Hello,

I've started some seeds on my window sill at work. I'm planning on planting them in my garden at home once the weather warms up. The basil, oregano, tomatoes, parsley, snap dragons and melons have all sprouted, but there's been nothing from the lavender and bell peppers. Is this normal? I planted the seeds about a week or 10 days ago.

I'm still very new to this, so I have a bunch of questions.... Please bear with me and thank you in advance for your help.

~ When can I plant them all outside?

~ What is 'hardening off' and must I do it in Boston? When? How?

~ Will I need to transfer them into larger pots before then? I started them in those little Jiffy soil pellets.

~ Should I remove all but the strongest seedling from each pellet?

~ The oregano, snapdragons and leeks all have a whole bunch of shoots growing in each pellet. What should I do for them?

~ Should I keep the pellets moist at all times or let them dry out (should they be dark brown - almost black, or light brown)?

~ What are 'suckers' on tomatoes and what should I do about them?

~ Where can I learn more about hanging gardens? I'm interested in hanging the melons as well as some cukes and squash. I was thinking I could build a little arbor for them. I also want to try the Topsy-Turvy tomato planter.

~ I have a groundhog outside. He's cute, but he ate all my veggies last year. This year I'm going to hang a windsock and try putting down some "Shake Away." Has anyone tried this? What were your thoughts? What are some other ways to deter the hog?