SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tehegemon

anyone still planting bulbs?

tehegemon
17 years ago

Well, last week we enjoyed sunny weather in the 60s here...next week will be overcast in the 40s...and, I'm still planting bulbs.

I'm a newbie to both gardening AND bulbs and undoubtedly went overboard in my zeal to beautify our landscape. I ordered way too many bulbs (i.e., 2,300 ~ although most are relatively small) and still have 35 peonies on the way...what was I thinking? The volume discount pricing was just too good of a deal to pass up and now I realize how I'm paying in other ways!

Being new to all this, I wasn't aware of the challenges I would encounter and how sore I now feel. My spouse planted our perennial beds and some of our shrubs. My neighbor planted some of our other shrubs. And I foolishly thought planting my share would be the easiest part ~ HA! ;-) I'm on my own now as my spouse is traveling extensively for his job (someone has to pay for all these bulbs and our garden tools), my neighbor is done doing outside work for the season, and our friends already paid their dues with their established gardens.

We had a tree removed earlier this year and I hadn't considered the amount of roots I would battle ~ GRRR! I also didn't expect the amount of rocks we have in our New England soil ~ YIKES!!

Anyone ever read a short story by Shirley Jackson called "The Lottery"? Well, I've get piles of rocks and stone all over our yard...the next time I view the plethora of exquisite images of what spring bulbs produce, I'll remember my stockpile of rocks and stone my enthusiasm!

I'm still planting Spanish Bluebells, three different types of Muscari, two types of Iris Reticulata, and Ipheion Uniflorum. When my peonies finally arrive, I'll be planting these as well.

What bulbs are you planting and what challenges do you face?

Comments (45)

• PRO
    Nell Jean
    17 years ago