SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
edubya

Best Brand of Paint?

Emily H
10 years ago
I've never thought a lot about the brand of paint I buy, just the color, but I understand there can be some big differences between brands. Do you have a favorite?

Share your experience! (photos encouraged)

Portland Apartment · More Info

Comments (195)

• julkimm
    9 years ago
    I am a custom painter and don't waste my time with Behr paint or Lowe's. You're local hardware store paints are of no use to me either... Behr wins awards because they deal with the home owner and diy'er. The price point is more favorable for the consumer as well.
    Just because a label may say Benjamin Moore or Sherwin Williams doesn't mean you're getting top quality. They do make "contractor grade" paint which is no comparison to the higher priced paints they sell. You DO get what you pay for.
    Benjamin Moore, Farrow and Ball, Fine Paints of Europe are by far the best paints you'll use on your home.... No question. Remember what you use to apply your paint have a lot to do with it as well.
  • dunzer
    9 years ago
    Just had this conversation today. Benjamin Moore for colour. Take the colour chip to Sherwin Williams.
    They can copy it for you, as can any paint store, BUT nobody can beat the quality, durability, customer service and cost that Sherwin Williams can.
    Benjamin Moore spends it's money on training, promos and advertising in Canada. If you are not a pro then you pay for that.
    Sherwin Williams pass those savings on to you with a better paint.
    No I don't work for them.
  • Related Discussions

Best Brand of Paint to use?

Q

Comments (15)