SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_71558385

Designing a wall mount kitchen faucet, feedback?

User
last year

Hello Houzz, I want to share a project that I've been working on for a few years. A bit of my insight came from reading these forums, so first I want to appreciate all the comments and helpful information you share here on these boards.

My project is a wall mount kitchen faucet that has all the features of a conventional deck mount: Single mounting body, single lever handle, pull down hose, and gooseneck spout. I finally got to the point where I have a functioning prototype and I'm pretty encouraged by the results.

The idea came about when I lived in a house from the late 1940's that had a chrome wall mount unit above the sink. I fell in love with the qualities of a wall mount faucet: Simple clean look, easy to wipe counter behind sink, gives faucet an independent feel as it isn't tied to the counter. After extensive research I could not find a new wall mount unit that offered the features available on deck mounts. Of course there are plenty of wall mount faucets, but they are pretty limited in their features, usually resorting to some goofy system for getting the job done (I'm thinking about those pull down sprayers that are suspended by a giant spring, aka - restaurant dishwasher faucet)

I began this project by creating rough sketches on paper and making models out of clay and rigid foam, then I moved on to learning CAD to create models for photoshop renderings and got serious with graph paper. I even shared those here about a year ago, and received a chilly response. Once I had some plans, I learned that a local university had a Prototype Development Lab and I collaborated with them to produce a functional prototype based on my designs.