SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
plllog

Advice wanted: Frosted/Iced Cookies

plllog
last year
last modified: last year

I've been doing baking/cooking sessions with an honorary niece. I thought she might like to make decorated cut cookies. I've made a bazillion of them, but always decorated with colored sugar and sprinkles/decos. (Over use of slashes! I'm trying to be brief!) But... I think she'd like it more to do icing. Glaze, sure, but I've only piped icing on a cookie once. I'm not really good at icing. Part of it is bag control, but I think the best way to do this, considering baking isn't a thing at her home, would be the sandwich bag with clipped corner, both to fit an 8-year-old's hand, and my own, plus having more different colors.

So, advice please?? I know royal icing is traditional and sets hard, but it doesn't taste very good and, IIRC, it's stiff and harder to pipe. I have a good butter cream recipe that uses half butter, half vegetable shortening, and tastes good, unlike pure shortening, and doesn't melt as much as all butter, but I don't know if it would do well piping on cookies. I've made Italian meringue buttercream, which has a lot more body, and doesn't taste bad, but I don't know if it pipes well or cookies well.

I can follow a recipe! Do you know the best recipes for kids piping cookies? Any procedures you can suggest?

I'm also torn between making natural colors (expensive and pastel), buying natural colors (limited, soft palette and don't keep, but simple) or using grocery store dyes (cheap, easy, bright).

What should I do? Other than hide under the bed until the impulse passes?

Comments (74)

• Islay Corbel
    last year

Plllog, the glycerine won't thin the icing it just stops it from going totally solid. I think solid is ok for biscuits. Not so good for, say, a christmas cake.

Flora, you need to get a sous vide set up! A fun and interesting way of cooking.

plllog thanked Islay Corbel
  • floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    last year