SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
amylou321

Floof! Education..

amylou321
last year

I was recently engaged in a now familiar and tedious "discussion" with my father. He is constantly bothered by the fact that I am the only one of his children without a college degree. I am not bothered, I went for a year. I majored in Nutrition Science. I objected to having to pay for and pass classes that had nothing to do with my degree. I was really enjoying the nutrition classes. I was irritated that I was required to go to, watch and review a play to be graded for a class that had nothing to do with the degree I was pursuing. For a BS in Nutrition Science I feel like I should not have to endure 3 fine arts, 4 history, and 3 English credits, or whatever they were. Even though I enjoyed learning about history and seeing plays, they should NOT be required for that degree. It is SUCH a con. I enrolled in college in order to gain the knowledge to embark on a CAREER, not gather ammo for idle small talk.

This always leads to another repeat "discussion" about how I feel that some of the curriculum I suffered through in high school was such a waste. I do realize that people in certain careers need the knowledge of such things as Algebra, Calculus, Latin, etc. I knew very early on that I was not going to be one of those people. And yet I had to suffer through them anyway. I will say nothing of the required "religion" classes that were a constant from kindergarten through high school. I should not have to say my opinion of them for it to be clear...... And if I had to endure "just in case" classes in high school, I feel as though colleges need to be more focused. I do realize its a money thing. The more classes they require, the more they charge, the higher the profit. But that does not mean I do not object.