SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_526825737

HELP! Custom Home Floor Plan + Elevation Advice on Coastal House

Mel
last year

I’m fairly new to Houzz but am in the process of building a custom home and would love to hear some thoughts from other professionals/home owners. I have my “final” plans back from the architect (“final” because if I decide to change them they won’t be final). I won’t start the official building of the house for another 6-12 months so I have time.

I’m torn between making this house a modern coastal house or a modern mediterranean style. If I go Mediterranean I’d change the walkthroughs to arches, make the “fireplace” a plaster/limewash look, do black/black windows, organic style tiles, etc. But for the most part the Mediterranean style will come from the interior design (furniture, decor, etc).

Notes/background

• Ignore the siding on the elevation. It was just a placeholder. The exterior will be Hardie board, board and batten style.
  • The barn doors will be a modern style. Most of the doors will be kept open 24/7 and I didn’t want to sacrifice space with the door opening radius. I may swap out some for pocket doors.
  • Ignore the kitchen appliance layout (dishwasher, microwave, etc). I am working with my cabinet guy on this but the microwave and dishwasher will be in the island.
  • Bedroom 2 will actually be a gym/guest bedroom. Bedroom 3 will be an office.
  • Laundry room has a dog wash station.
  • There is an elevator on the floor plan. For now, it will just be outfitted (electrical, etc) for an elevator to be added at a later date.
  • The house needs to be on pilings.
  • There will be a fenced yard on the size of the house where the back porch is. The back of the lot is woodlands/wetlands and there is a retaining wall.
  • I’m not entirely concerned about resell value. This is a house I’m building for me, I’ll worry about resell value years down the road but I’m the one living in it everyday.

My questions