SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tere_roldan11

Need help with ideas for backyard in little townhouse

Mary R
2 years ago
last modified: 2 years ago

Hi everyone, First time here asking questions and hoping to get some good feedback from all of you. So... I'm new at all of this, always lived in apartments, so I need a lot of help and advice.

I have a little townhouse with a small backyard.

A part of it is covered--there is an old and beat up "sunroom" (is it considered a sunroom? Enclosed porch, glass windows which need some WD-40 and a miracle) which has just a laminate sheet as a roof (not insulated) so it's not really usable, especially in summer (I live in Florida), since it feels like an oven.

It has pavers installed on the floor, and I like those.

The covered "sunroom" is about 13'4" wide and about 16' long from where the original roof of the house ends (from the "lanai" covered with the original ceiling of the house, if it makes sense).

It also leaks on the edges when it rains heavily, thank goodness not in the middle...

The glass windows, like I said, need some TLC but they work... and they have a tint film that is coming off in most of the windows so they don't look very pretty.

Also, to the right of the "sunroom," there is little area where the AC unit is (that uncovered area maybe is about 10' wide?) and there is a lot of old mulch covering an area full of rocks. It is not usable the way it is right now, I do not even know which creatures live there :/, but I want to be able to use it.

When you step out of the little "sunroom"/enclosed porch, there are some pavers installed (dirty, but nothing that a good power wash can't fix) although they are not well aligned and you can see some bad weeds growing in between the pavers/tiles. (That's the area in the photos where the big bush is and the little grill is located).