SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
b_cz10

Discussion with StrawChicago about growing roses, health & nutrition

Bc _zone10b
2 years ago
last modified: 2 years ago

Hope everyone is having a nice autumn! @strawchicago z5, wanted to see if you had any tips for dealing with midge in potted roses? I think I have midge damage on my Princess Charlene de Monaco, which was recently re-potted.

Also any tips on growing potted roses in CA? I am new to potted roses after growing in ground beack east in zone 5. I'm on the coast here in LA in zone 10b, so it doesn't usually go above 80F or below 50F.

Thanks Straw! Here are some pictures of the midge damage on my Princess Charlene.

and here is a random picture of my Abraham Darby blooming to balance out the ugly midge picture above ;)

Comments (107)

• ann beck 8a ruralish WA
    2 years ago

My Fun in the Sun grew well and bloom lots, looks like Carol's, but often had slightly different colors on each bloom, but it took a break in heat. I really enjoyed Fun in the Sun, but since your summer is more like Carol's you might get her performance.

My Bliss Parfume is NOT happy in a pot. It has very little scent and if I move it , it might have more, but that one is just way down on the list. It is similar to Abraham Darby, but Ab's scent and performance is so much better.

Apricot Candy is so very pretty, with a lovely soft apricot color. Grafted it smells like aprioct candy to me. Mine has mosaic virus and I am going to plant it in the ground anyway. I just love it's soft color and scent. Brendan...wonder if it's color depends on the weather? You might get bright in the heat, I get soft in my cool??? Semi-open buds, with bud. Bolero and pink interior in cool at far back.

Happy Dance, I was finally able to upload a picture!!!!!!

• Bc _zone10b
    Original Author
    2 years ago