SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
debby_ab

Back to work

Debby
2 years ago

It's been nice, having the past 4 1/2 months off work and I really wasn't looking hard for work because a HUGE part of me wanted the entire summer off, but I still handed my resume out for over 30 positions since losing my job. I've only received 3 weeks of EI and yesterday I got a voice mail from a courier company saying they're looking to hire me as they got my resume from a government funded program that EI uses. I instantly had a panic attack. My stomach literally turned to knots. My chest started hurting and my hand shook like crazy. I CANNOT drive for a living. Yes, I *can drive, but not for a living. Why?

1. I'm terrified of dogs. If I had to deliver to residential areas and they have a dog, I would have to skip the house
  2. I will NEVER drive downtown. When I do go downtown my husband drives, or I'll take city transit. Our streets are SO stupid and jam packed full that there's no way I'll be able to drive through there for any deliveries
  3. I HATE driving. I go to work. Sometimes I go to the store. I come home. That's the extent of my driving.
  4. I will not drive on the highway. Yes, I'm that person who doesn't like to drive 100-120k an hour. And if the person ahead of me is driving lower than the speed limit, I'll stay behind him rather than pass on a 2 lane road because even as a passenger, passing scares me.

I was scared if I didn't call her back EI would cut me off. I tried 4x but it kept ringing busy. Then I was afraid if she did answer and I said I simply cannot do this for a living, she would tell EI and I would get cut off. What to do???