SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bkmmc7

Desperately need help with this dated living room redesign.

bkmmc7
3 years ago

I am going to be updating this room but need to keep the rug and the couch. I am thinking of briarwood paint on the walls but am open to other suggestions. The rug is busy and looks a bit brighter in the photos than it does in person. It is most definitely a focal point and a statement, but it needs to stay. I am really stuck on window treatments. I was thinking of purchasing a bay window rod and hanging panels beside each window pane? I was thinking it would be best to stay neutral with both the paint and the window treatments. I could also use advice on putting a love seat by the window, or staying with 2 chairs. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I am not experienced with decorating. I tried moving the couch in the bay window alcove but it does not fit correctly. A love seat would fit but I feel like the 2 chairs is a better option. Would it be a fuax paus to a put a love seat in a bay window? I am open to any and all suggestions for colors and decorating ideas. thank you

Living Room · More Info

Living Room · More Info

Comments (36)

• jck910
    3 years ago

First I would turn the rug. Center it on the window. Pull the sofa off the wall and put the front legs on the rug, Lower the art over the sofa about 5-7" above the back of the sofa. No to loveseat. I like lower backed chairs in a window. Look at swivel chairs. I think a stripe with the rug colors might be nice. I think roman shades on the window would be a nice update. Put the clock flat on the window wall not kitty corner. Paint will be your last choice once you have all the elements chose. If you mean Benjamin Moore Briarwood I had that on the front of my home and think it would be too dark. And the new color should probably go in the DR also as it's open to LR. But post a picture of DR for us to see

bkmmc7 thanked jck910
  • Melissa R
    3 years ago