OT......question about England

yoyobon_gw

I've been enjoying the documentary on Amazon Prime done by Dave and Debra Rixon, UK filmmakers titled " The Original Footloose ---Along The Ridgeway" ( 1998).

What a gorgeous countryside and they are simply a delightful couple.

My question : Does England have deer ticks ? I watch them hiking along in shorts and short socks and get a feeling they are not concerned about ticks or Lyme disease as we are here in the US northeast.

SaveComment20Like1
Comments (20)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
donnamira

I have no personal knowledge of the tick populations of the UK, but I did some internet searching. Lyme disease is carried only by Ixodes ticks; in the US, there are 2 types of Ixodes ticks that carry Lyme (one of which is the deer tick ixodes scapularis) with a range only in North America. Do All Ticks Carry Lyme Disease According to another site (European Tick Maps), there is one Ixodes tick species (ixodes ricinus) in the UK, although I have no idea if it also carries Lyme.

Save    
reader_in_transit

According to WHO, Lyme has been found in other parts of the world, besides the USA. But in Europe it mentions only "central and eastern Europe":

https://www.who.int/ith/diseases/lyme/en/

Save    
vee_new

I would have replied earlier but someone 'flagged' my OT thread about Covid and I was temporally caste out. As both the thread and I are back I can say that Lyme disease isn't made much of here, although probably it should be. I think there have mainly been outbreaks in some southern wooded areas (New Forest Hampshire etc) where deer roam. As the Footloose programme was made in the '90's possibly no-one was aware of it's significance.

Save    
yoyobon_gw

Thanks Vee, and I think you might be correct because in 1998 few of us thought much about tick diseases unless we happened to actually live in Lyme Connecticut where it was first noted.

Save    
Carolyn Newlen