SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
editoria

Random Thoughts

Alisande
3 years ago

Just a few things I've been thinking about or doing . . .

I dyed some of my white socks last month. I wear white socks around the property in summer, and wool socks as soon as the temperature drops, but we had a nice Indian Summer, too warm for wool, and I wanted to wear clogs with something other than white socks. I've had lots of experience dyeing wool for rug hooking, but I never dyed cotton before. They look nice!

I read that cucumbers keep better at room temperature than they do in the fridge. I never knew this. So I tried it with some small cukes from Walmart. I think the advice is probably sound. But I also think cucumbers get beaten up during Walmart transport, so this wasn't a fair test. I wish I'd tried it with homegrown ones.

I did some gravestone photography yesterday--first time this year. I thought I'd make many field trips to cemeteries during the pandemic summer, but for some reason I didn't. I enjoyed my outing yesterday, but was shocked at how quickly I was slowed, and then stopped, by back pain (scoliosis). It's so much worse than last year. The progression worries me. I saw many gravestones with 1918 death dates. All ages. At first I thought a diphtheria outbreak had devastated the community (we see this so often in cemeteries), but then I realized . . . 1918 . . . the Spanish Flu.

Share your random thoughts here!

Comments (53)

• lily316
    3 years ago
    last modified: 3 years ago

My Uncle Jack's parents died one by one in the 1918 Spanish flu epidemic. He died years ago but at the time of his parents' deaths, he was eight. They took his mother's body out the front window and his father's there the following day. He and his sister were raised by his grandmother.