SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bam_gon

Help! my neighbors going to tear my driveway up

bam gon
3 years ago
last modified: 3 years ago

I purchased a house in California 7 years ago and have decided to rent it out this year. I received an email that me neighbor who has been there for 40 years is going to tear up my driveway because a portion of it is on his property.

The driveway was put in by the previous owners 12 years ago and after a land survey it does look like it extends 3ft onto his property. I don't know why he has never brought it up until now but is there anything I can do? any Statute of limitations laws? heres a picture of his spray paint job on my now tenants driveway.

Any and all help appreciated.

Comments (60)

• lynartist
    3 years ago

Surely you have the original survey when you bought this property. Just check and see if this is even a problem. It could be something entirely different!

• Autumn Skelley
    3 years ago

(I am not a lawyer) Contact a lawyer. You'll specifically want to inquire about if adverse possession applies in your situation. It will depend on your state as well as other factors, but it is possible that he cannot simply tear up the driveway as it could be yours via adverse possession.

• Related Discussions

Squirrels tearing up my house

Q

Comments (6)