SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hiddenacres32

Sewing machine suggestions....

Anne
4 years ago

I am looking to buy or maybe my sweet husband will buy me a new sewing machine. Many years ago I first owned an inexpensive Singer and then purchased a Bernina that was pretty state of the art at the time. I rarely used most of the functions. I did mostly home decor and some kids costumes and stuff for some high school drama that was still mostly straight lines. I made drapes , some "loose" slipcovers and bedding but at what I would call intermediate level...I ended up giving my machine to a friend because it had been a year since I had used it and hated to see it just sit.

I now am interested in doing some more home decor type stuff for our house remodel....meaning drapes, decorative pillows, etc. I don't want total beginner and would like to have a few different stiches etc...but will basically sew straight or zig zag on light to moderate fabric and maybe a button whole or two.

One thing I struggled with was threading the darn Bernina, so a simple threading machine would be nice...the "kid" who always did it for me lives an hour away. That same kiddo might use the machine some as well. While not as "advanced..haha..." as me may use the machine some and probably would experiment more.

Is 200 to 250 a reasonable budget? If I really get into it since I have more time now I would then be willing to upgrade and gift the machine but I don't want to spend 500 or more and just do straight stitches. .

Thanks for any suggestions.

Comments (47)

• mainenell
    4 years ago

I got a Bernette for my daughter about 5 years ago that she has been really happy with. I think it was around $200 or $250. It is the introductory line for Bernina. Not all metal like the Bernina. (I still love my 25 year old Bernina!)

Anne thanked mainenell
  • Related Discussions

SewDear sewing machine

Q

Comments (1)