SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_861286948

How to overseed lawn & grow grass?

Neal Rich
4 years ago
last modified: 4 years ago

I live in southern PA, practically in MD. I never Overseeded my lawn nor grew grass but it appears, with some google searching, October is the best time for me to do these things. I’m not a DIY expert and no nothing much about my lawn. i don’t know the exact grass I have but at my local garden shop they tell me most everyone in my area have a mixture of 3 grasses and they sell that grass seed.

I have an area in the back of my yard which used to be flowers and mulch but I want to make it all grass. To make it hopefully blend into the rest of my yard, I thought it would be best to overseed my whole back yard with this same grass seed i purchase. I don’t have much equipment so hopefully this is something I can do in a rather simple way. Is there any point to seeding just before or just after a day when there will be rain ? And I saw on YouTube that some people plant seeds in the winter rather than fall. I hope to get some great advice below.

Comments (62)

• User
    4 years ago

It'll take fine with no additional help.

That having been said, compost sure won't hurt, so if you want to drop a quarter inch, go right ahead. And existing lawns can be fertilized now, and should be fertilized again at growth stoppage (usually, for you, around Thanksgiving).

If you haven't fed this fall, do so now. If you have, you can skip it now. But in either case, plan to do the winterization feeding at growth stoppage which, again, is usually your last clean-up mow.

For me, that's Thanksgiving week. For others, it varies. The lawn will still be green, but won't be growing any longer.

Neal Rich thanked User
  • a1an
    4 years ago

Neal's seeding in a existing mulch/flower bed. I think OM he's good. I would just work on leveling/grading out that new area, and bring the grade up to whatever level/pitch you want to tie into the existing hardscape